Penang will pursue the George Town–Butterworth LRT link

The Penang government is still waiting to meet Prime Minister Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim and Transport Minister Anthony Loke to discuss the proposed George Town–Butterworth Light Rail Transit (LRT) project. Chief Minister Chow Kon Yeow said the discussion would also touch on other critical transport projects in Penang, such as the ... Read More

Penang may consider another avenue to build LRT if reclamation project scrapped

Penang will consider building its light rail transit (LRT) line separately from an earlier transport master plan if the three islands project does not get regulatory approval. Previously, the three islands project, known as the Penang South Reclamation (PSR), was supposed to finance the LRT project with land from the ... Read More

Putrajaya pulls back govt guarantee for Penang’s RM2b loan to finance LRT project

Putrajaya has decided not to proceed to grant a government guarantee for a US$500 million (RM2.04 billion) loan application by Penang to partly finance its RM9.5 billion light rail transit (LRT) project. Finance Minister Tengku Datuk Seri Zafrul Tengku Abdul Aziz said the decision was in line with the revised ... Read More

Bayan Lepas LRT Public Inspection

The Penang Transport Master Plan (PTMP) is a comprehensive five-in-one transport blueprint consisting of light rail transit (LRT)/monorail, ferries, taxis, buses and water taxis to meet Penang’s needs over the next 50 years. The Bayan Lepas LRT (BL LRT) is the first urban rail line to be built under the ... Read More

Transport Ministry and SPAD agree to Penang’s LRT proposal

Penang CM, Y.A.B. Mr. Chow Kon Yeow said the Ministry of Transport and SPAD has agreed with the State Government's proposal to build the Light Rail Transit (LRT) system from George Town to Bayan Lepas. He said the agreement was reached at a meeting with Transport Minister Anthony Loke Siew ... Read More

7 Upcoming Projects at Sungai Nibong in 2017 / 2018

Following the unveiling of Penang Transport Master Plan, developers are eyeing for opportunities near LRT stations. This is particularly obvious in Sungai Nibong where there were at least 7 projects proposed by 6 developers in the past 12 months, with the exception that there is still no official plan submitted by ... Read More

Latest Projects @ Bayan Lepas LRT Line

Bayan Lepas LRT Line became the popular topic of discussion ever since it was announced by Penang State Government as part of the Penang Transport Master Plan. Bayan Lepas LRT line, covering a total of 30 km length will likely be the first LRT line to kick off. We often ... Read More

Penang eyeing July approval for LRT project to begin 2017

Penang hopes to secure a conditional approval for its first railway scheme connecting Bayan Lepas to Komtar by next month, state executive councillor Chow Kon Yeow said. The local government committee chairman said SRS Consortium, the project delivery partner (PDP) for the Penang Transport Master Plan (PTMP), met with Land Public ... Read More

Bayan Lepas LRT and PIL 1 are the top two priorities

The state government is in no rush to implement the RM27 billion Penang Transport Master Plan (PTMP) as it is a multi-stage project spanning a 15-year period, said local government and traffic management committee chairman Chow Kon Yeow. He said the implementation of the PTMP will be done in stages ... Read More

Penang George Town – Butterworth LRT Line

The 18km George Town-Butterworth LRT line will begin at The Light Station (on the Bayan Lepas LRT line) and terminates at Sg Nyiur Station for interchange transfer with Raja Uda-Bkt Mertajam Monorail line. Besides accommodating a panoramic sea view, the LRT line offers an efficient alternative connection – the fifth ... Read More